top of page
Armonico Consort


27 June 2023


St Jude-on-the-Hill
Richard Clegg cr Michael Eleftheriades_edited.jpg
Christopher Monks
Opera Night with Armonico Consort

Christopher Monks conductor

Eloise Irving and Hannah Fraser-Mackenzie sopranos

William Towers countertenor and alto

Ben Thapa tenor

Alex Jones bass

Giovanni Pergolesi Stabat Mater with Eloise Irving soprano and William Towers countertenor

Henry Purcell Dido and Aeneas with Eloise Irving soprano, William Towers alto, Hannah Fraser-Mackenzie soprano, Ben Thapa tenor and Alex Jones bass

Armonico Consort is renowned for its inspiring concerts and imaginative education programme. 

Tonight’s programme features Giovanni Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater and Henry Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas. Pergolesi’s Stabat mater is a transcendently beautiful and deeply personal musical meditation on suffering and redemption, written by the 26-year-old composer as he himself lay dying. Dido and Aeneas, performed at St Jude's with minimal staging, is a Baroque operatic treat populated by witches, drunken sailors and spurned lovers. The aria known as Dido's Lament is arguably the saddest piece of music ever written. It is an outpouring of melancholic beauty possibly unsurpassed in all opera. It is played annually at the Cenotaph during the National Service of Rememberance and inspired Annie Lennox to record a version.

Link to the artist's own website:

Supported by the Edwards Family Foundation

bottom of page